Programme: SAAFF Summit 2021

Day 1 | Thursday, 16 September 2021




08:00- 08:30

Attendees Log In

08:30- 08:40

Derek Watts to open

Derek Watts

08:40- 08:45

Opening and Welcome

Devan Govender - Chairperson: SAAFF

08:45- 09:10

Keynote Address

Edward Kieswetter: - SARS Commissioner

09:10 - 09:20

Welcome Address/Primary Funder's Address

Timothy Thom: Senior Underwiter - Lombard Insurance Company

09:20 - 10:00

The Mass Lootings and Prospects for Political Realignments in Ramaphosa's Cabinet

Ralph Mathekga - Political Analyst, Researcher and Author of "Ramaphosa's Turn"

10:00 - 10:40

Africa Continental Free Trade Agreement - Challenges and Opportunities for Global Value Chains: Regional and International Perspectives - Customs Compliance and Improved Trade Facilitation: Best Practice from Around the World

Moderator: Trudi Hartzenberg - Executive Director: tralac - Trade Law Centre NPC.

Catherine Grant Makokera - Director: Tutwa Consulting

Dr Francis Mangeni - AFCTA Secretariat

10:40 - 11:00


11:00 - 11:20

Industry Connectivity Through Collaboration

Beyers Theron - Director: Customs Border Operations, Ports of Entry and Customs Compliance - SARS

11:20 - 12:10

Enhanced Trade & Compliance Efficiency: Unlocking the Single Window

Moderator: Bruce Ellison - Consultant: World Bank Trade and Investment team

12:10 - 13:00

Reality Redefined for Smart Borders: Strategy, Design & Implementation

Moderator: Devlyn Naidoo - Executive: SARS and OGAs: SAAFF

Lucky Molefe - Executive, Cross-Border Co-ordination: SARS

John Mein - Executive Coordinator of the Alliance for Modernisation of Logistics and Foreign Trade - PROCOMEX

Hong Nguyen - Technical Officer, Facilitation and Compliance Directorate The World Customs Organisation

Letchmee Naidoo - Customs and Trade Facilitation Expert

13:00 - 13:45


13:45 - 14:45


Moderator: Garry Marshall - CEO: SA Express Parcel Association

Jason Blackman - Senior Director - Customs, Trade Compliance and Regulatory Affairs: DHL Express - Sub Saharan Africa

Martin Cameron - WTO Chair team member and Managing Director: Trade Advisory.

14:45 - 15:45

Synergised Connectivity: OGAs Digitised, Pioneering the Future - Creating a Seamless Supply Chain

Moderator: Elvin Harris - Executive Manager: Strategic Knowledge in the Office of the Chief Executive: Transnet Freight Rail

Mike Fitzmaurice: CEO: - Federation of East and Southern African Road Transport Associations (FESARTA)

Nuram Idris - Healthcare Manager Afrca: GS1 Global Office

Barbara Mommen: - CEO: Coalescence mation Technology: Imperial Logistics

Peter Varndell - CEO: NEPAD Business Foundation

15:45 - 15:50

Competition Draw

15:50 - 15:55

Vote of Thanks and Closure

Day 2 | Friday, 17 September 2021




08:40 - 09:00

Attendees Log In

09:00 - 09:05

Opening and Welcome

Derek Watts

09:05 - 09:50

Ethical Leadership

Prof Jonathan Jansen - Internationally renowned expert in education

09:50 - 10:40

Ethics and the WCO Integrity Diagnostic Mission

Moderator: Basil Pieterson: FIATA President and Immediate Past Chairman of SAAFF

Prof Dennis Davis

Lawson Naidoo Executive Secretary: Council for the Advancement of the South African Constitution (CASAC)

10:40 - 11:00


11:00 - 11:50

COVID-19 Vaccine Roll-Out

Moderator: Dr Maria du Preez - Business Development Director: Bidvest International Logistics and Chair: SAAFF Gauteng Chapter

Willem Bekker - Supply Chain Solutions Engineer Bidvest International Logistics

Dr Stavros Nicolau - Head, Health Working Group: BUSA

Cas Coovadia - CEO: BUSA

Dr Nicholas Crisp - Deputy Director General: National Health Insurance National Dept of Health

Lizeth Kruger - National Clinic Manager: Dis-Chem

Dr Ronald Whelan - Chief Commercial Officer: Discovery Health

11:50 - 12:30


12:30 - 13:15

The Changing Aviation Centre of Gravity - a Look at the Next Ten Years

Dr Alex Stancu - PhD - Head of Account Management South & East Africa at International Air Transport Association (IATA)

13:15 - 13:55

Educate Today to Empower Tomorrow: the SAAFF Academy

Moderator: - Devlyn Naidoo - Executive, SARS and OGA: South African Association of Freight Forwarders

Prof Keith Engel - CEO: South African Institute of Taxation (SAIT)

Jerann Naidu - Synergy Transformation Solutions

Thomas Sim - FIATA Senior Vice President, Rapporteur on Education, and former Chair of ABVT

13:55 - 14:50

Navigating the world's uncertainties - the Upside of Down

Bruce Whitfield - Radio, TV and print journalist and speaker

14:50 - 14:55

Competition Draw

14:55 - 15:00

Vote of Thanks and Closure

Dave Logan Outgoing CEO of SAAFF